Meet the Howe Team!

Each month, we will be spotlighting different staff members to encourage appreciation and awareness. Get to know them, greet them, and say thank you for their hard work! Expressing gratitude boosts morale and creates a positive school community. Be specific about what you appreciate and consider thoughtful gestures like thank-you notes or a highfive in the hallway. Let’s start by showing gratitude to this month’s featured staff member and create a culture of gratitude!

Joshua Edmund Bodary

Job Title: Paraprofessional gym

Describe what you do for Dearborn Schools in 3 sentences or less:
I find motivators for students to help reach their highest physical potential. I also help students re center themselves so that they can continue their day and learn the life skills they need.

What Elementary School did you attend? 
I went to Mt. Carmel Catholic School in Wyandotte, MI.

What did you want to be when you grew up? 
I wanted to be a firefighter, then a truck driver.

What was your first job? 
Fast food worker at Hardees

How long have you been at Howe and how many years of professional work experience do you have?
I have been at Howe for 8 years and in Dearborn 23 years. 

Name something you look forward to each day you walk into Howe? Name something you look forward to the second you step into your home? 
I look forward to finding that one motivator that inspires that student to be as independent as possible and to learn the love for knowledge. Coming home each day I look forward to having my pets greet me at the door.

Share with us a few of your favorites…
I love the outdoors and I love history when it has an active aspect to it. (Hiking to ruins, snorkeling shipwrecks)

What is your favorite genre of books to read? 
Science fiction/fantasy

Do you have any hidden talents or hobbies?  
My family owned a dance studio for 20 years growing up and my wife and I owned a dance studio for a few years.

What parts of our school Mission/Beliefs/Vision do you connect with? 
That everybody can learn.

How would you describe our school culture? 
Family

What is your classroom like? 
Half of a gym lots of equipment something new each day.

I don’t focus on how others see me, I just focus on what I believe is right.

Mr. Bodary

Leave a comment