Meet the Howe Team! – Phillips

Each month we are highlighting professionals around the building and sharing what they do and a little about who they are. Read the post to learn more about Rosie Phillips! We are grateful to have resources in our school to support our little ones needs socially and emotionally. If you see Rosie, introduce yourself, say thank you and help make Howe a warm and inviting place to be.

Rosie's school picture from 2022
School picture of Rosie Phillips, 2022.

Job Title: School Social Worker

Description of what you do for Dearborn Schools in 3 sentences or less: 

I work with the staff and students to help support them socially and emotionally. I service both the Montessori and the Special Education students in the building.

How long have you been at Howe and how many years of professional work experience do you have? 

This is my very first year at Howe and in the Dearborn Public Schools. Previously I worked as a school social worker for two years in a charter school. Prior to that I worked as a caseworker at an adoption agency for three years. 

Share with us a few of your favorite things… 

I enjoy reading (especially in the summer when I can do it in my hammock), spending time with my husband and cats, and traveling, baking, and being outdoors (usually in my garden or on a trail walk.)

What is your classroom like? 

My room is known as a calming and relaxing space, at least that is what those who stop by say. I keep string lights up and am not a fan of the overhead lighting and have plenty of games and activities to use with students!

Philips Family with their Cats, Cosmo and Marigold

Name something you look forward to each day you walk into Howe? Name something you look forward to the second you step into your home?  

Each day I look forward to seeing the students in the morning. It truly is my favorite way to start the day. I enjoy seeing them and getting them excited for their day ahead! At the end of each day I always look forward to my two cats greeting me at the front door the second I get home.

Phillips Family with cats Cosmo and Marigold

What’s the day-to-day of your role like? 

My day to day is always different– that is the life of a social worker! I always like to start my day greeting the students when they arrive, letting them in the building, then I make my rounds to different classrooms to do morning check-ins with students. The rest of the day varies with meetings, seeing students, finding new things to do with students, etc. I always enjoy that no day is the same and I love the outlook that every day is a new day!

This is me on my honeymoon when my husband and I hiked at Acadia National Park.
Rosie on her honeymoon with husband during hiked at Acadia National Park.

Leave a comment